Famous Sikh Pilgrimage Gurudwaras

Famous Sikh Pilgrimage Gurudwaras

Akal Takht Sahib

Takht Sri Kesgarh Sahib

Takht Sri Damdama Sahib

Takhat Sri Harimandir Patna Sahib

Takht Sri Hazur Sahib

Top 10 Famous Sikh Pilgrimage Gurudwaras - Divine Travels

Gurdwara, which means “door to the Guru”, is a place for worship and assembly of Sikhs. Gurdwara Sahib is also referred to by Sikhs. Gurdwaras welcome people of all faiths. Every gurdwara has its Darbar Sahib. This is where the current and eternal guru of Sikhs, Guru Granth Sahib (the scripture Guru Granth Sahib), is located in a prominent central location. In the presence of the rest, any congregant, sometimes with specialized training, may recite, sing, or explain the Guru Granth Sahib verses.

Every gurdwara has a langar hall where vegetarians can enjoy free food prepared by volunteers. You may find a library, classroom, meeting rooms and a nursery. The tall flagpoles with the Nishan Sahib (the Sikh flag) can identify a gurdwara from a distance.

History of

Gurdwaras are places where Sikhs gather for worship. Guru Nanak built the first Gurdwara anywhere in the world in Kartarpur in 1521-2. There are approximately 200 Gurdwaras across Britain. Literally, Gurdwara means “the residence of Guru” or “the door that leads you to the Guru”.

Top 10 Tour packages, Best hill station and places to visit in Famous Sikh Pilgrimage Gurudwaras by The Best Tour and Travel Agency in Rishikesh.

Famous Sikh Pilgrimage Gurudwaras

    1. Nankana Shib was established in 1490s by Guru Nanak Dev, Punjab (Pakistan).
    2. Sultanpur Lodhi was established in 1499 and became the Sikh center during Guru Nanak Dev time Kapurthala District. Punjab (India).
    3. Kartarpur Shib was established in 1521 by Guru Nanak Dev, the first Sikh Guru. It is located near River Ravi, Narowal and Punjab, Pakistan.
    4. Khadur Sahib was established by Guru Angad Dev ji in 1539, near River Beas, Amritsar District of Punjab, India.
    5. Goindwal Sahib was established by Guru Amar Das Ji, the third Sikh Guru in India, in 1552 near River Beas.
    6. Sri Amritsar was established by Guru Ram Das Ji, the fourth Sikh Guru. It is located in District Amritsar (Punjab India).
    7. Tarn Taran Sahib, established in 1590 by the fifth Sikh Guru, [Guru Arjan Dev ji], District Tarn Taran Sahib, Punjab India.
    8. Kartarpur Shib was established in 1594 by Guru Arjan Dev, fifth Sikh Guru. It is located near the river Beas, Jalandhar District of Punjab India.
    9. Sri Hargobindpur was established by Guru Arjan Dev, the fifth Sikh Guru. It is located near river Beas in Gurdaspur District of Punjab India.
    10. Kiratpur Sahib was established in 1627, by Guru Hargobind, the sixth Sikh Guru. It is located near river Sutlej in Ropar District, Punjab.
    11. Anandpur Sahib was established in 1665, by the ninth Sikh Guru Guru Tegh Bhadur. It is located near river Sutlej in Punjab, India.
    12. Paonta Sahib was established in 1685, by the tenth Sikh Guru Guru Gobind Sing, near river Yamuna (Himachal Pradesh India).
    13. , established in 1685 by the tenth Sikh Guru, Guru Gobind Singh, near river Yamuna, Himachal Pradesh India.

Panj Takht

Five gurdwaras, or thrones of authority called Panj Takht, have special significance to the Sikh community.

        • Akal Takht Samib (the Throne of the Timeless One), was established in 1609 by Guru Hargobind. It is located in the complex of The Golden Temple in Amritsar.
        • Takht Sri Kesgarh Sahib, located in Anandpur Sahib, PunjabIndia
        • Takht Shri Damdama Sahib is located in Bathinda. Punjab, India
        • Takhat Sri Harimandir Patna Sahib is located in the vicinity of Patna Sahib. Patna, Bihar. India
        • Takht Sri Hazur Shib is located in Nanded (Maharashtra, India).