This is another eminent Sikh worship place in Dehradun (Uttarakhand) that is dedicated to Baba Ram Rai (the eldest son of Guru Ram Rai). This is the place where Baba Ram Rai settled after getting expatriated by the Sikh orthodoxy. The building is architecturally momentous as it owns many architectural themes including, turrets, domes and gardens, from Islamic architecture. Every year, a lot of pilgrims used to visit this place because they like to enjoy the mouthwatering Prasad at the langar. All the walls of this gurudwara are ornamented by portraits and frescoes of many solons, gods, goddesses, and saints.
The temple site was founded by Baba Ram Rai in the mid-17th century after he was banished by the orthodox Sikh sect for mistranslating a word in the Adi Granth in front of the Mughal emperor Aurangzeb. He replaced the word “Mussalman” with “faithless” to prevent causing offence.
The settlement is believed to have given Dehradun its name: a “dera”, or camp, in the “Doon” valley. The central complex of the temple was completed in 1699, twelve years after Baba Ram Rai’s death, and the complete structural work was finished between 1703 and 1706; embellishment and painting work is thought to have continued long after the structural completion. Mata Panjab Kaur, Baba Ram Rai’s wife, oversaw the construction work and managed the affairs of the Darbar till her death in 1741/42